In Brief

Brisbane’s Finalists In Lord Mayor’s Business Awards

Brisbane Lord Mayor Campbell Newman has congratulated finalists in the 2008 Lord Mayor’s Business Awards, the city’s most prestigious business accolade which recognises excellence and rewards exceptional contributions to the growth of the city’s economy.


The Lord Mayor’s Business Awards is in its third consecutive year and is an initiative of Invest Brisbane, the city’s official investment promotion agency and part of Brisbane Marketing.

Cr Newman said that the diversity and quality of entries across the nine categories reflected Brisbane’s emergence as an innovative, world-class city.

“I was impressed by the diversity of nominations, from global technology firms, construction companies and hotel chains, to local tourism operators and up-and-coming biotechnology companies. The one thing they have in common is that these businesses have invested in the fastest growing capital city in Australia – Brisbane,” Cr Newman said.

“The creativity demonstrated in the nominations was also overwhelming and I commend all businesses and individuals who have committed to taking part in my Award’s program.”

The finalists in each award category were selected by independent panels of local business leaders. Like the nominations, the 36 judges also represented very diverse industries, from global powerhouses – KPMG, Savills and Singapore Airlines; to local businesses, universities and charities including RACQ, University of Queensland and Youngcare.

The winners of all nine categories plus the Optus Platinum Award will be announced at the Awards gala dinner on October 23 at the BrisbaneCity Hall.

“I will be hosting the Awards evening with David Koch and Sophie Formica, two of Australia’s biggest television personalities from Channel 7, and guests will be further entertained by the Queensland Orchestra as well as a line-up of Brisbane’s emerging talent,” Cr Newman said.

The Lord Mayor’s Business Awards program was established in 2006 and has grown from five categories to 10 since its inception.

Tickets are available at



Australia TradeCoast Award for Business Growth:

Australian Country Choice, BMD Group, Queensland Gas Company, Rowland.

IBM Award for Business Innovation: Technology One Ltd, Cutting Edge Post Pty Ltd, Medi Honey, Emporium Hotel.

Nova 106.9 Award for Business Creativity: Urban Circus, Cutting Edge Post Pty Ltd, Hoodlum, Mercury Mobility.

National Australia Bank Award for New Investment: The Sebel & Citigate Hotel, Alba Capital Partners Limited, Clovely Estate, SkyAirWorld.

Brisbane City Council Award for Corporate Citizenship: Mater Medical Research Institute, Clayton Utz, Di Bella, Holiday Inn Brisbane.

Davidson Recruitment Award for Employer of Choice: St George Bank, Clayton Utz, John Holland, Riverlife.

Energex Award for Sustainability in Business: NRMA Insurance, Arup, Hassell, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, Mission Australia, Queensland.

Mercedes-Benz Young CEO of the Year: Phillip Di Bella, Di Bella Coffee; Avraam Solomon, Solomon Food Group; Don Meij, Domino’s Pizza Enterprises; Peter Carr, Longhaus.

Channel 7 Business Person of the Year: Avraam Solomon, Solomon Food Group; Adrian Di Marco, TechnologyOne Ltd; David H T Devine, Devine Limited; Richard Cottee, Queensland Gas Company.


Contact Us


PO Box 2144